Every time I take a road trip somewhere and visit the city’s public market, I think, ‘gee, Pittsburgh really needs something like this!’ Well, now we’ve got it!  There are so many reasons to be excited about the opening of the Pittsburgh Public Market, but here are my top three:

  1. Convenience: There are twenty-seven vendors listed as being there every day, and an additional five on Friday, nine on Saturdays, and three on Sundays.  All this shopping under one roof is fantastic (or dangerous if you are an impulsive buyer like me!).
  2. Unique vendors: Although there are some familiar ones to the Strip (La Prima; Fudgie Wudgie) and the Pittsburgh area in general (East End Brewing Company; Spice by Tamarind), there are also vendors that are just getting their start in the area (Tupelo Honey Teas; Crested Duck Charcuterie).
  3. When winter comes, you can shop in an enclosed area and not freeze your tookus off!

I just got back from my first visit to PPM, and I have to say I am really impressed.  I thought maybe it would just be rows of vendor tables, but it’s actually really cute- a lot of the vendors have obviously taken time crafting the style of their booths.  A lot of products are displayed in baskets or wooden shelves, giving the market a homespun kind of feel.  Vendor signs hang from the ceilings for easy navigation.  Free samples abound, including hot teas from Tupelo Honey Teas, and amazing olive oils/vinegars from Cosimano e Ferrari.  If you’re in the mood for a meal, there’s also a few vendors here for you (Sito’s Mediterranean, Rowdy BBQ), with more to come in the next few weeks.  I’m looking forward to Gosia’s pierogies opening myself.  The market has a few tables and chairs to relax and enjoy your food, as well as public restrooms.  I’m so elated about the Pittsburgh Public Market’s opening, and I plan to return next weekend for their grand opening festivities!

