There’s an extra bounce in my step recently, and that’s because it’s peach season!! Peaches are my all-time favorite fruit: sliced on cereal or pancakes, baked in cobblers and pies, or just eaten like an apple, I absolutely adore peaches.  The best feeling in the world is biting into a nice, juicy peach and having the sticky liquid run all the way down your hand and arm.  Mmm…

I’ve been checking out a lot of the farmer’s markets in my area (post to follow soon), and last Thursday I visited the Citiparks Farmer’s Market in Bloomfield.  Nearly every vendor had peaches, and I simply couldn’t resist.  I picked up a box of six for $4 and decided to make a cobbler with them.  I used a Paula Deen recipe for the crust and a standard Betty Crocker recipe for the peach filling.

The results were pretty good, although I did learn a lesson in the lifetime of baking powder (if it’s clumpy in the container, chances are it won’t do the job).  My old baking powder led to my crust not rising to the top, which led me to think if I just baked it a few minutes longer it would rise, which led to an over-baked crust that was rather crispy on the bottom.  It was surprisingly not terrible, and who really eats cobbler for the crust anyways?  It’s all about the fruit.  At any rate, the recipe itself is really good, and if you have fresh baking powder I highly recommend it.  The best part is that you probably have all the ingredients around except for the peaches.

Ingredients Cost
4 c. peeled, sliced peaches $4.00
1 c. sugar, divided pantry
1/2 c. water
1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon pantry
1 T. cornstarch pantry
8 T. butter pantry
1 1/2 c. flour pantry
2 1/4 tsp. baking powder pantry
3/4 tsp. salt pantry
1 1/2 c. milk pantry
Total cost (12 servings) $4.00
Cost per serving $0.33

Preheat oven to 350F.  Combine the peaches, ½ c. sugar, water, cinnamon, and cornstarch in a saucepan and mix well.  Bring to a boil and simmer for ten minutes.  Remove from heat.

Put butter in a 9 x 13 baking dish, and place in oven for a minute or so to melt.

Mix remaining ½ c. sugar, flour, and milk slowly to prevent clumping.  Pour mixture over melted butter (do not stir).  Spoon fruit on top, gently pouring in syrup.  Batter will rise to top during baking (unless you use old baking powder like me).  Bake for 30-45 minutes.

