I’d like to apologize to all the herbs and plants everywhere that I have ever killed.  To the scores of houseplants I ambitiously grew as an undergrad, the herb garden that I grew last year, and also to my current spider plant that is not quite dead but has had a few close calls: I’m sorry.  It’s not like I intentionally starve you and stick you in the dark.  I get busy, and it just happens.  I’d never kill a plant on purpose, especially not an herb plant.  To my newly planted sunflower, oregano, basil, and chives: I promise I’ll do better.  Don’t listen to my friends who are taking bets on how long it will be until you are dead.  I promise to keep your soil moist and to give you sun, and to trim you back so that you flourish.  This is my promise to you, and if I break it, I promise I will never try to grow any of your brothers and sisters ever again.  Deal?  Deal.

