For me, rice pudding conjures up memories of me squealing with delight as a child whenever my mom would make something for dinner involving rice.  I knew that this meant she would set aside a portion of the cooked rice, add some milk and sugar and cinnamon, and that I would inevitably fight with my dad for the last serving of ‘sweet rice.’ Such a comfort food!

As usually happens with my recipe ideas, this one started with something I saw on sale at the grocery store and couldn’t pass up: mangos!  I didn’t have a plan for it when I bought one, but one day while reading Serious Eats I saw a picture of a mango rice pudding.  The picture was gorgeous but the recipe called for cardamom, and who in the world has cardamom? Certainly not the Chubby Grad.  So I looked for a more basic rice pudding recipe and figured I could just shove some mango on top.  I found this one from All Recipes, a website I don’t frequent but thought I’d give it a try.  I left out the vanilla, cinnamon, and raisins and added slightly less than the amount of sugar called for.  The recipe was simple enough, although a bit time consuming.  The night I made it, I tried the pudding hot with mango pieces on top.  The pudding itself was so wonderfully creamy and slightly sweet.  The texture and flavor of the mangos didn’t work so well with the pudding, but I held out hope.  I tried it again tonight, this time served cold with mangos on top.  This is definitely the way it should be served if putting mangos or some other fun fruit in it. The best part about this recipe is that all the ingredients are pantry items and the only thing I had to buy was a 99 cent mango!

¾ c. uncooked white rice

2 c. milk

1/3 c. sugar

¼ tsp. salt

1 egg, beaten

1 mango

Boil 1½ c. water in a saucepan, add rice and stir.  Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes (I had to add more liquid periodically to make sure it didn’t burn!!).  Meanwhile, peel and dice mango.  In a second saucepan, add 1½ c. milk, sugar, salt, and the cooked rice.  Cook over medium heat until thick and creamy, 15-20 minutes.  Stir in the remaining ½ c. milk and beaten egg and cook 2 more minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in butter.  Add mango pieces to each individual serving and enjoy!

